Logo notag Logo ver07 Logo ver07 Logo ver07

The Seven National Historic Landmarks in Columbus

Columbus has seven buildings (shown on left) included in the exclusive National Historic Landmarks program. In a highly unusual move, the program honored the city by accepting six of those locations simultaneously. The seventh, The Republic newspaper offices, was added in 2012.

The National Park Service notes that "National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant historic places...because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States."

Much of downtown Columbus is listed with the National Register of Historic Places as well, which partially explains how a small city of 45,000 would be ranked right behind Boston and Washington, D.C. for its architectural treasures.


Explore More …

(800) 468-6564, (812) 378-2622
© all rights reserved, 2016 Columbus Area Visitors Center