About the Pritzker Prize

The Pritzker Prize website explains that the prize was created “…to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture…It is granted annually and is often referred to as ‘the architecture’s Nobel’…The award is conferred on the laureate/s at a ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world.” The award ceremony was held in Columbus, Indiana in 1994, when Christian de Portzamparc was honored. See video from the event ceremony here.

Kevin Roche, 1982 U.S. Post Office, the Cummins Columbus Engine Plant Renovation and Expansion, Cummins Corporate Office Building, Cummins Midrange Engine Plant, Irwin Union Bank & Trust Arcade, Irwin Union Central Office Addition, Irwin Union Capital Corporation Renovation,the Columbus Area Visitors Center Expansion and Renovation : Upon the untimely passing of Eero Saarinen, Roche and his partner Dinkeloo completed North Christian Church

I.M. Pei, 1983 Cleo Rogers Memorial Library, 1969
Richard Meier, 1984 : Clifty Creek Elementary School, 1982
Robert Venturi, 1991 : Fire Station No. 4, 1967

Images above from www.pritzkerprize.com > click on images to visit the pages